This page was machine-translated from English. Rates, banks and figures are identical to the English page.
Best 12-month GIC rates in Canada
Best 12-month rate per provider for a C$10,000 deposit, open to any customer, read from each bank's website. Last checked 18 Oct 2026, 05:37 UTC.
| Bank | Rate p.a. | Tenure | Deposit | Details | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oaken FinancialLong-term GIC (non-registered, annual interest) | 3.75%≈ C$375 in 12 months | 12 months | C$1,000 + | Board rate | Go to bank |
| EQ BankGIC (non-registered, long term) | 3.70%≈ C$370 in 12 months | 12 months | C$100 – C$100,000 | Board rate | Go to bank |
| TangerineGuaranteed Investment | 3.60%≈ C$360 in 12 months | 12 months | Not stated | Board rate | Go to bank |
| BMO Bank of MontrealBMO GIC (annual / compounded annually) | 3.00%≈ C$300 in 12 months | 12 months | C$1,000 + | Board rate | Go to bank |
| CIBCCIBC Bonus Rate GIC (posted, non-registered) | 2.45%≈ C$245 in 12 months | 12 months | C$5,000 – C$999,999 | Board rate | Go to bank |
| RBC Royal BankGuaranteed-Return GIC (non-registered) | 2.45%≈ C$245 in 12 months | 12 months | Not stated | Board rate | Go to bank |
| ScotiabankLong-term Non-Redeemable GIC | 2.45%≈ C$245 in 12 months | 12 months | C$500 + | Board rate | Go to bank |
Different amount, priority tiers or fresh-funds filter? Open the full comparison.
Deposit protection: CDIC
LimitC$100,000
CDIC insures eligible deposits at member institutions up to $100,000 (principal and interest) in each of several separate coverage categories. Source, checked 2026-10-18.
We're a comparison service, not a bank: we don't take deposits. Rates change without notice; verify with the bank before you deposit. Not financial advice.