This page was machine-translated from English. Rates, banks and figures are identical to the English page.

Countries / 🇨🇦 Canada

Best GIC rates in Canada

CAD GIC rates from 8 providers, read directly from each bank's website every day, plus 1 more providers to check. Sorted by rate; no paid rankings.

Last checked 18 Oct 2026, 03:42 UTC · all 9 providers

Best rate for a C$10,000 deposit, open to any customer. Promotions can end early; confirm with the bank.

Compare GIC rates

Okres
Typ stawki
Opcje

7 banks with a 12-month rate for C$10,000

BankRate p.a.TenureDepositDetailsLink
Oaken FinancialLong-term GIC (non-registered, annual interest)3.75%≈ C$375 in 12 months12 monthsC$1,000 +Board rate
$1,000 minimum; Non-redeemable; Held at Home Bank or Home Trust Company (separate CDIC members)
Przejdź do banku
EQ BankGIC (non-registered, long term)3.70%≈ C$370 in 12 months12 monthsC$100 – C$100,000Board rate
$100 minimum and $100,000 maximum per GIC; Non-redeemable
Przejdź do banku
TangerineGuaranteed Investment3.60%≈ C$360 in 12 months12 monthsNot statedBoard rate
Przejdź do banku
BMO Bank of MontrealBMO GIC (annual / compounded annually)3.00%≈ C$300 in 12 months12 monthsC$1,000 +Board rate
$1,000+ investment; Annual or annual-compound interest
Przejdź do banku
CIBCCIBC Bonus Rate GIC (posted, non-registered)2.45%≈ C$245 in 12 months12 monthsC$5,000 – C$999,999Board rate
Posted rates; promotional rates shown separately on the page may be higher
Przejdź do banku
RBC Royal BankGuaranteed-Return GIC (non-registered)2.45%≈ C$245 in 12 months12 monthsNot statedBoard rate
Interest paid at maturity, semi-annually, annually or compounded annually; Non-redeemable
Przejdź do banku
ScotiabankLong-term Non-Redeemable GIC2.45%≈ C$245 in 12 months12 monthsC$500 +Board rate
Non-registered minimum $500 (annual/semi-annual); Compounded annually
Przejdź do banku

"Fresh funds" means money brought in from another bank. Board rates are standing rates; promos are time-limited. Jak zbieramy i weryfikujemy stawki.

How is this list ordered?

By rate, highest first, for the amount and term you chose. Where a bank publishes its own blended effective rate we use that. Each bank appears once with its best matching offer unless you tick "Show every rate". Banks cannot pay to change the order.

Plan your deposit

Best rate by term

3 months: 2.55% at EQ Bank2.55%3-month6 months: 2.80% at EQ Bank2.80%6-month9 months: 3.25% at EQ Bank3.25%9-month12 months: 3.75% at Oaken Financial3.75%12-month18 months: 3.80% at Oaken Financial3.80%18-month24 months: 4.20% at Oaken Financial4.20%24-month36 months: 4.30% at Oaken Financial4.30%36-month

Best rate open to any customer for C$10,000 at each term, from today's verified offers. Hover a point for the bank.

Get an email when rates rise

Double opt-in: confirm by email first. One email when the best rate for your term and amount goes up. Unsubscribe in one click.

Official benchmarks

Bank of Canada target for the overnight rate (policy rate) 2026-10-152.25%
Government of Canada 3-month Treasury bill yield (weekly, Bank of Canada) 2026-10-142.38%

Source: bankofcanada.ca, bankofcanada.ca. Shown as a reference point, not a recommendation.

Deposit protection: CDIC

LimitC$100,000

CDIC insures eligible deposits at member institutions up to $100,000 (principal and interest) in each of several separate coverage categories. Source, checked 2026-10-18.

Where does your money earn most in Canada?

Best 12-month GIC (Oaken Financial)3.75%
Bank of Canada target for the overnight rate (policy rate)2.25%

Best 12-month deposit and best savings rate open to any customer, next to the official benchmark. Savings rates are variable and often conditional.

More GIC providers in Canada

We list these providers but do not read their rates automatically yet, so we never show a number for them. Check the rate on the bank's own page. Know a bank we should read? Suggest it.

Questions about deposits in Canada

What is the best 12-month GIC rate in Canada today?

3.75% p.a. at Oaken Financial (minimum deposit: C$1,000), read from the bank's website at 18 Oct 2026, 03:42 UTC. Promotions change often, so confirm with the bank before you deposit.

What is the best 6-month GIC rate in Canada today?

2.80% p.a. at EQ Bank (minimum deposit: C$100), read from the bank's website at 18 Oct 2026, 03:42 UTC. Promotions change often, so confirm with the bank before you deposit.

Are GICs in Canada protected?

CDIC insures eligible deposits at member institutions up to $100,000 (principal and interest) in each of several separate coverage categories.

How many banks do you compare in Canada?

We list 9 providers. Rates for 8 of them are read automatically from their own websites every day; for the rest we link to the bank's official rate page and never show a number we have not read.

How do GIC rates compare with the Bank of Canada target for the overnight rate (policy rate)?

The Bank of Canada target for the overnight rate (policy rate) is 2.25% (2026-10-15). The best 12-month GIC rate open to any customer today is 3.75%.

Deposit rates in nearby countries

🇺🇸 United States🇧🇷 Brazil🇲🇽 Mexico🇨🇱 Chile

Add this rate table to your website

Copy this code into your page. The table updates daily and links back to each bank's page here.

Missing a bank? Suggest one

We're a comparison service, not a bank: we don't take deposits. Rates change without notice; verify with the bank before you deposit. Not financial advice.